PERCEPTIONS – Seeing SOLUTIONs not Problems

Ah, another day at work done!

Today I want to share some of my PERSPECTIVE on how faulty logic can cause us to quit on our DREAMS before we even attempt them.

But first let me get my green tea. Mmm-mm-mm, that’s good stuff.

Alright THANKS for your PATIENCE.

So let’s begin this thought process with a couple quotes to get the brain juices flowing.

“To every problem there is already a SOLUTION whether you know it or not.”

Grenville Kleiser

“It is a law of life that problems arise when conditions are there for their SOLUTION.”
Walter Sisulu

As I have been growing up I can really look and say the most important change I ever made was to stop creating roadblocks in my own mind. Too often I would look at my own DREAMS and see a million things that could go wrong. What I was not noticing was that I was able to see all these things that could go wrong so that means I was always able to prevent, circumvent, or ADAPT to them if they did occur.

I had often considered my mind that of a general but now I see where that opinion was just a little off, because a general does not abandon the war out of fear of losing it he prepares his strategy to account for things that could go wrong that way when they do it has already been anticipated.

When I was younger my dad would watch me play video games and ask all kinds of questions about why I was intentionally losing certain games or even killing myself.  As I child I had a very clear understanding that if I didn’t try those things then I wouldn’t know what was possible or probable.

As with most people through the years of teenage angst and depression I had changed my habit as a way of avoiding pain because I had foolishly started taking my mistakes as personal failures. The real TRUTH being that the only failure possible was not trying just because I was afraid of what could go wrong.

Let’s take a look at one of my DREAMS and see how this perspective change really had an impact then I’ll even share my thought process of removing roadblocks.

Most of my life I have always wanted to be a healer of some sort not specifically any kinds just one that helps others through whatever medium possible whether it be music, nutrition, a friendly smile or hug, or even just being there to listen to someone tell me about something in their life. Now originally I did not have such a wide perspective on it but from REFLECTING on it now most of my definitions for success were basically a way for me to help the ones I loved through whatever was my interest at that time.

A month or so ago I had this crazy notion that I wanted to be a massage therapist. If you know me then I had never discussed this or even anticipated that it would have been something I would pursue. This one idea came to  me like lightning with such unimaginable force that I could not deny it. At first I thought I don’t know any about massage therapy, problem one, then I said how can someone who lives with constant pain really help someone else with theirs? Problem two. Then it something amazing happened and I thought for a moment about something, my dad had always told me.

He would say, ” Samuel, sometimes depression and addiction is like being stuck in a hole, one that is so deep you can’t make it out alone. You may decide to call for help and a few will try to lay down at the top of the hole and pull you out. Occasionally the hole is so deep they can’t reach you so they move on. Then one day someone will come along and see how deep you hole is then jump right in. You might say what are you doing are you crazy? Now we are both stuck in this hole. Then that person will say I have been in a hole this deep and I made it out just fine then will proceed to lift you from the bottom of your feet so that you can reach the edge and climb out.”

He was never short on words, guess that runs in the family.

What this showed to me was that what I had perceived as a problem, my pain, was actually the tool that would allow me to effectively connect and help others since I had been in a hole before as well.

I want to leave you with a few more great quotes to really let my message hit home.

“Every problem has in it the seeds of its own SOLUTION. If you don’t have any problems, you don’t get any seeds.”
Norman Vincent Peale

“After every storm the sun will smile; for every problem there is a SOLUTION, and the soul’s indefeasible duty is to be of good cheer.”
William R. Alger

THANK YOU and I LOVE YOU!

Sam

About sardeneaux

Raised as a preacher's kid for most of his adolescence, Sam is a young man who has come value LOVE and AUTHENTICITY more than anything else. Through the creation of MoreThanGold he hopes to provide a space for personal growth that will inspire others to remember their true worth.

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Inspiration, Journal, Reflections, Sam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

