Courage – Not Reserved for Knights

This entry will hit your page in a more appropriate hour than it was written.

I sit in bed, awake, from two things. My heart hurts from a recent event and spicy Indian food making me sweat.

With my defense mechanism of levity removed it is more likely the first.

I have always been a big advocate of quotes so let me start this thought process with a few that really speak to me.

“God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the COURAGE to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”

Reinhold Niebuhr

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you COURAGE.”
Lao Tzu

“Without COURAGE, wisdom bears no fruit.”
Baltasar Gracian

If you are familiar with the 12 step program then the first quote is probably one that you use very often. While the other two are quite famous and we have all probably seen a couple of those stylized quote images that contain these sagacious messages. But I chose these in particular because they reflect that COURAGE is an alternative means to trusting or having FAITH.

What I am looking to discuss today is not just COURAGE to go to war or slay some sort of mythical monster. As important as those forms of COURAGE are, right now I want to discuss the COURAGE that is commonly overlooked by the public because it has not been deemed heroic and holds no illusions of grandeur.

More accurately I want to discuss the kind of COURAGE that can only come from living life from the heart in a world that occasionally seems to consider it foolish, the kind that says to the world, “I know that things will not always go as I planned or desired but I am willing to try anyways because I know that without COURAGE then I am dead anyways.”

I was the type of person who in the past would get hurt whether be it physical or emotional and say childish things like, “I guess that’s what I get for trying.” or, “only a fool would want to believe in the good when logic says otherwise.” These forms of self-pity and ego coddling really only served to perpetuate my low self-esteem and a negative state of mind.

If you can’t tell, I’m done with that bullshit.

But I do feel it is important I share these thoughts and feelings while they are still fresh because it is all too often that people seem to assume that just because I am a positive person and hold to very romantic ideals that I as a human being, never experience pain or doubt. Well here you go folks even I experience the BEAUTY of LIFE that comes from the duality of existence.

The reason for pain most often in my life is due to the fact I have already decided how things should go and started creating a future based on current circumstances that are really so far beyond my own control that it is inevitable for me to get hurt occasionally. Most likely this is my area of growth and life lesson something along the lines of “Have the COURAGE to HOPE but always be willing to accept you could be wrong”.

Who knows? (That’s rhetorical so please don’t answer)

But this time when I felt this pain, something new happened instead of saying, “well I guess I’ll hide from life again because getting hurt is too scary” instead I said to myself, “if there were no thorns on a rose its BEAUTY would be trampled underfoot.”

Oh how I would LOVE to avoid these thoughts that seem to badger my heart with their constant provocations like a snobby know it all child saying “I told you so” while sticking out its tongue. But my heart instead replies “THANK YOU for the warning and perhaps I will consider your advice longer next time.”

So what does one such as myself do when I am in pain?

You are looking at it, because in this day and age there are so many ways to avoid LIFE but living it is true heroism. Getting your thoughts and feelings out for the rest of the world to read and grow from is just one the many important habits that will allow our species as a whole to evolve into that which we desire from the core of our very essence. A collective of PEACE and SERENITY that is so immersed in love and joy that a LIFE of a escapism is revealed for being the direct cause of our suffering and discontent.

So if you are reading this thinking poor Sam, please stop because you missed the point. I’m not writing to garner your pity, I’m writing to show you that it is courageous to be a human who gets hurt or makes mistakes but still proceeds to LOVEHOPE and have FAITH.

I’m going to close with a few more quotes that really inspire me to defiantly look at the world and say, “Yes I could get hurt, but I’m not scared anymore.”

So as always THANK YOU and I LOVE YOU

Sam

“I learned that COURAGE was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”
Nelson Mandela

“COURAGE is being scared to death… and saddling up anyway.”
John Wayne

“COURAGE can’t see around corners but goes around them anyway.”
Mignon McLaughlin

“COURAGE is simply the willingness to be afraid and act anyway.”
Robert Anthony

About sardeneaux

Raised as a preacher's kid for most of his adolescence, Sam is a young man who has come value LOVE and AUTHENTICITY more than anything else. Through the creation of MoreThanGold he hopes to provide a space for personal growth that will inspire others to remember their true worth.

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Journal, Love, Reflections, Sam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

