Church – Kindness – Paradigm Shift

“This is my simple religion. There is no need for temples; no need for complicated philosophy. Our own brain, our own heart is our temple; the philosophy is KINDNESS.”
Dalai Lama

Good Morning Loves! Thanks for tuning in!

I want to start this entry off with something that I try to use daily please read this aloud if you are able to you will enjoy it I promise.

Thank you for waking me up today, my good health, a clear mind, a heart full of love, an opportunity to make this world a little brighter, the people you have brought into my life, the lessons I am going to learn, and the divine abundance known as life. You are an amazing provider, which is reflected in this beautiful existence that I am grateful to enjoy. THANK YOU and I LOVE YOU!

Feel better? I do thanks for going along with that. Feel free to steal that it really makes my days start off great.

KINDNESS. Ah what a beautiful thing indeed, something can be perceived beyond any sensory limitations, cultural differences, or language barriers.

KINDNESS is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see.”

Mark Twain

I’ll tell you this practice of KINDNESS is so much fun and enjoyable it makes you realize the world is not such a scary place. It’s a simple state of mind that allows you to make something that seems mundane or ordinary into an uplifting and heat warming experience.

“Love and KINDNESS are never wasted. They always make a difference. They bless the one who receives them, and they bless you, the giver.’

Barbara de Angelis

Lets look at the simple act of taking out your trash. If you live in a suburban area than you probably have to walk your bins out to the curb. Nothing too special and rarely does it ever warrant you wanting to congratulate yourself for completing it. Next time you do that if you have the chance try walking your neighbors bins out to the curb as well, go on try it. When you are done you will walk back into your house with a smile on your face and a simple sense of satisfaction that you normally wont find from just taking your own out.

“No act of KINDNESS, no matter how small, is ever wasted.’

Aesop

Have you ever found yourself a little bummed out or downtrodden, then suddenly a friend comes over and does something as simple as take you out for a meal or help you clean your dirty house? It feels great right? That person has instantly won a much more sincere sense of appreciation from you than any amount of gifts can garner. We known why it’s because of KINDNESS.

“One who knows how to show and to accept KINDNESS will be a friend better than any possession.”
Sophocles

I can honestly admit sometimes the simple act of KINDNESS can set the tone for the whole day for me so much that I don’t really talk about anything else.

“That best portion of a man’s life, his little, nameless, unremembered acts of KINDNESS and love.”

William Wordsworth

I recall when I first moved to Austin I had been invited to go hang out with some new friends for an after party. So as I stop to get gas on my way there I was approached by a young man maybe a couple years older than me,clean shaven and definitely dressed for a good time. Funny thing was that the gas station where we met happened to be about twenty minutes north of downtown. He walked up to me and asked to use my phone while I was pumping gas, at first I was very skeptical, I mean “logic”  would say you don’t know this guy don’t trust him.

Then my heart said listen, as his story unfolded he was on military leave visiting to have fun with his friends but had gotten separated from them when he left the club with a girl he was trying to get with. To get to the point she was crazy and too drunk to drive so he demanded she drop him off immediately which left him at the gas station where I had stopped. I decided to let him borrow my phone, I mean really it was not a nice phone by any means, he called a few numbers but never got a hold of any one. I had finished pumping gas and it was getting pretty late, then I proceeded to do something that was very unconventional.

I offered him a ride to his hotel, the look of appreciation and surprise on his face was so genuine that I would never exchange that moment for any sense of “security” that would have been provided from me not offering it.  As we ride towards where his hotel was supposed to be located, I got to know him and he was amazing soul that had spent his last few months in Iraq providing medical care to children that were hurt during the war over there. He shared with me about how that made him feel and how he looked at those children to only see they were no different than his own son at home that he really missed. As we get closer to downtown he gets a little embarrassed because he can’t remember where his hotel is. Then I get a really crazy idea!

I then proceeded to invite him to the after party where a bunch of musicians are going to hanging out and having fun. His eyes lit up with joy and he smiled then said he would like that. As we start heading to the party he tells how much he loves music, which is why he had come to Austin and that he was trying to teach his son how to play guitar. Of course being in the military made it hard but he was determined to get back to civilian life once his contract was up so he could spend more time with him. We arrive at the party and I ask a favor of him,”Hey man I am fairly new to this group of friends and they might not like me for bringing a complete stranger into their apartment at this hour, so if they ask just tell them we are childhood friends.”

He nodded and agreed it wouldn’t be a good idea to scare everyone with this unconventional meeting. We go into the party and have a great time all the way until the sun starts to rise on the horizon. It’s about seven in the morning he let’s me know he just hailed a cab, gives me a hug ans says something that changed my attitude towards “strangers” forever. He said, “I just want to thank you man, I came to Austin to hear some good music and meet some great people. I spent most of the night with my friends, in lame clubs chasing girls only to be abandoned by the people I came here with. Then a complete stranger brought me to exactly what I had been searching for.”

He waived good-bye got into the cab and left.

“You cannot do a KINDNESS too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.”
Ralph Waldo Emerson

I’m not advising you to take the risks that I had here but I am asking you to look at this beautiful example of how you can’t even understand the value of how much your acts KINDNESS impact others, so don’t rob yourself or them of that opportunity.

Let me wrap this up with providing y’all some links to come really cool places about KINDNESS and let you know I will be sharing more KINDNESS quotes throughout the day.

https://www.facebook.com/KindnessIsMyReligion

http://www.kindspring.org/

As always you are worth MORE THAN GOLD.

THANK YOU and I LOVE YOU,

Sam

About sardeneaux

Raised as a preacher's kid for most of his adolescence, Sam is a young man who has come value LOVE and AUTHENTICITY more than anything else. Through the creation of MoreThanGold he hopes to provide a space for personal growth that will inspire others to remember their true worth.

Posted on September 22, 2013, in Church, Journal, Love, Reflections, Sam and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

