Adaptation – Accepting your Potential

Adaptation, a process that would probably go a lot smoother if we did not resist it so much when it was happening.

The truth about people is that we all make amazing adaptations in our life some out of necessity others curiosity or desire.

What seems to be illustrated through most of our adaptations is that we have a far greater potential than we can ever fathom. It’s almost like deep within our DNA or souls there is a greater essence guiding us through some sort of mystic evolutionary process. The real trick is letting that guide do it’s job without allowing your brain to suffocate it with fear.

I wish I had a magical answer for this process but there hasn’t been one in my life, it takes constant awareness and presence. A little bit of insanity mixed in with a great sense of humor and even then you will find yourself looking out over the edge of reason asking, “how did I get here?”

My life has been one of multiple adaptations and I frequently like to consider myself amphibious for the simple definition of adapting to my surroundings. I normally do a pretty good job of keeping a level head and smile on my face, but even I have my moments. If you can’t tell this is one of those moments.

I am in the apex of a storm within my own mind and the little dingy boat my sanity clings to just might capsize. The future appears on the horizon as a lush beautiful island but in order to reach it I must abandon ship and swim through the deepest darkest unknown waters I have ever encountered.

So what does one do, drift aimlessly at sea or brave the waters? The answer seems fairly obvious, but getting out of the boat seems like a much easier decision to make than action to take. Perhaps the boat will drift there on it’s own, or maybe that island is just a hallucination. Funny thing about both of those thoughts, they are not ones that I could live with, as inaction has a certain way of eating at your soul that I am not sure I can afford anymore.

I’ll tell you one thing for certain, I am not the type of person to settle for the evil I know under the pretense of it being easier to cope with. Which is fairly funny because there are plenty of times in my past that this was my exact logic for the discontentment in my life, because confronting uncertainty was not worth the effort to me. To be honest I was just a coward then unwilling to risk comfortable misery for anything that resembled potential discomfort.

Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t necessarily consider myself brave, but what I can say is that if I die tomorrow I don’t want to look back on my life wondering what if. I would much rather look upon my mistakes and say at least I know then a laugh at them. There is no greater source of comedy than yourself I promise.

I would like to say that I am now ready to accept the future that awaits me, a potential of opportunity and abundance but it doesn’t make it any less daunting. As I let my eternal spirit guide lead me on this journey of self discovery I’ll do my best to not ask, “Are we there yet?” For it appears there is not a “there” to arrive at more of a never ending trip that will continuously push me to new levels of comprehension.

So let me wrap this up, we are all on these amazing journeys in life. Our adaptations are designed to prepare us for the future that we can’t predict and there is no change in life that you can’t handle only the ones you don’t want to. When the time comes for you to make an adaptation then acknowledge the greatness within you and realize that it is only exposing your true potential if you are willing to allow it.

As always you are worth MORE THAN GOLD.

THANK YOU and I LOVE YOU,

Sam

About sardeneaux

Raised as a preacher's kid for most of his adolescence, Sam is a young man who has come value LOVE and AUTHENTICITY more than anything else. Through the creation of MoreThanGold he hopes to provide a space for personal growth that will inspire others to remember their true worth.

Posted on October 31, 2013, in Reflections, Sam and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

