Grateful – Acknowledging My Blessings

grateful

Acknowledging my blessings

Gratitude is a very common theme for my posts whether it be a quote or 1000 word entry.

Over the last few months I have noticed that I receive so much love and support it makes me feel like one of the most fortunate people on the planet.

On average it seems that I get the support of at least 40 good friends and family, honestly speaking some of them I haven’t had a direct conversation with in years. When I see the names of the people from my past that still care about me, regardless of my poor communication with them, it really illustrates the fact that I am incredibly fortunate.

So to make sure I practice what I preach I want to tell the people who do take the time to read these long-winded entries how much I appreciate their support.

Outwardly it appears that all of my endeavors in life just happen casually without any fear or hesitancy, well that is quite far from the truth. The only reason I am able to keep my cool and roll with the punches in life is because I am constantly showered with love and confidence.

A recent concept has really struck home with me lately, you are a sum of characteristics of the people around you. Well with this digital day and age it is safe to say “around” you is a little ambiguous. Though I do know the effects of people on the other side of the world sharing their thoughts and feelings with a complete stranger such as myself, have just as much of an impact on me as sitting down with a good friend in person.

There are a few times I have been told how much people love hearing about what’s going on in my life and it really surprises me every time. Even I get caught up in the game of ego telling myself where I should be in life right now instead of just acknowledging my current situation with appreciation. So when I hear this it reminds of how much I am loved, which in turn makes it much easier for me to focus on the positive.

Probably one of my favorite things about having so much support is that it becomes much easier to look at potential challenges as opportunities instead of risks. The moment I see someone overcoming adversity in their life, I instantly gain perspective on mine. Because as I see you going through ups and downs like me, then it becomes easier to respect myself the way I respect you.

One of the hardest things a person can do is describe their character or identify their values. As I look around at the people who I interact with the most, whether in the digital or physical sense, it begins to fall in place. I am successful, kind, inspiring, talented, hard-working, friendly, generous and fortunate but these traits are not mine to possess, they are inherited through the company I keep and merely cultivated by my actions.

This is me saying thanks to all the people who take the time to read this because of you I am successful, kind, inspiring, talented, hard-working, friendly, generous and fortunate which means I have some amazing people in my life. To me you are all worth More Than Gold.

THANK YOU and I LOVE YOU.

Sam

About sardeneaux

Raised as a preacher's kid for most of his adolescence, Sam is a young man who has come value LOVE and AUTHENTICITY more than anything else. Through the creation of MoreThanGold he hopes to provide a space for personal growth that will inspire others to remember their true worth.

Posted on January 16, 2014, in Reflections, Sam and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

