Resilience – The Fabric of Success

Resilience

The Fabric of Success

What makes a bouncy ball so fun?

It bounces back.

What about those ridiculous clowns you punch in the face?

They bounce back too!

Now these are great physical representations of a human characteristic that is admired and occasionally envied.

What I am talking about is resilience the subject of my entry for tonight.

There’s a common opinion I hear, something along the lines of it being easier for young people to bounce back from adversity.

To be fair I am still relatively young to some so my opinion is just that, but from how I see it age should have no difference on your ability to rebound.

Let me elaborate, if you are young it should be easy because you have an abundance of energy and even perhaps a slight ignorance. For the old your resilience only changes it’s source of origin in your case you have the experience of knowing that you have encountered things of this nature before. While hopefully the maturity to know that failure is not in making mistakes but more about letting those mistakes rob you of your peace and self love.

As far as success goes I will not pretend to be the end all resource on what success is, only because that is defined individually just as your sense of morality. Though my humble opinion is of one that believes success is not measured in dollars, material goods, friends,  awards, societal contributions or even objectives achieved. My thoughts on success are that of simplicity, do you enjoy your current position in life? Can you sleep easy at night knowing that you are doing your best at living a life true to your values?

If you can wholeheartedly answer yes to both of those questions then you are in my book incredibly successful.

When I look at my life I can definitely say that there are some things I would like to change. Does that mean I don’t enjoy my current position in life?  Not at all, it simply means that I am still growing just like most others.

How does that make sense? Honestly it may not always make sense, but through my own experience I have found in life you really only have two options, you can either enjoy the present moment or not. Of course there are some off the wall events you could ask along the lines of physical torture or other radical occurrences, to those questions I can only say stop trying to make things more difficult than they actually are. The word enjoy here is just another word for acceptance and appreciation for you as a person that way you can love yourself enough to know you don’t have to be perfect and there is no “destination” you have to arrive at.

As for the second question about living true to my values? I do my best to live a life of personal accountability, meaning, that I constantly question my own thoughts and feelings about my actions. If there is anything that I do which truly contradicts what I believe then I investigate my motives and adjust my actions accordingly.  Most people do this all the time so I don’t particularly see this as a unique skill only one that I actively develop. You see the funny thing about our values is that they are evolving right along us, so our opinion on certain ideas or concepts is subject to change as our life does so frequently.

What does this have to do with resilience?

Great question! If you can learn to enjoy your present moment and admit that you are doing your best to uphold your personal values then those are the key components to self love and forgiveness. Those two ingredients are at the very core of resilience, as I said before it’s not about never making mistakes, it’s more about bouncing back after you do. When you love yourself and can forgive your own humanity then a mistake is just that a mis-take, so take another shot until you get the picture you want.

Let’s recap, success is defined in many ways but the best way to find your own success is through resilience.  The foundation of resilience is self love and forgiveness. Self love and forgiveness are centered around allowing yourself to be human and make mistakes.

I’ll wrap this all up with a final question for you to ponder.

If success has varying definitions and resilience is about giving yourself the right to make mistakes, then is your definition of success preventing you from seeing the success that you already are?

Thanks for tuning in and as always you are worth MORE THAN GOLD.

LOVE,

Sam

About sardeneaux

Raised as a preacher's kid for most of his adolescence, Sam is a young man who has come value LOVE and AUTHENTICITY more than anything else. Through the creation of MoreThanGold he hopes to provide a space for personal growth that will inspire others to remember their true worth.

Posted on April 8, 2014, in Reflections, Sam and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

