Negligence – A Beast Run Rampant

Negligence

A Beast Run Rampant

Negligence, a fitting theme for my first blog post in a long time.

Looking at some of my previous posts I must warn that this one may not be quite so inspiring or motivational, but perhaps through my process of personal admittance you can find some solace in knowing that all humans have room to grow.

As of late my life has been swept up in the constant stimulation and sensory overload that is known for it’s vice like grip on modern society. With brief windows of clarity that seem to be serving as a way for my soul to take a breath while I unconsciously try to drown out my feelings. Truth be told those feelings are not the real problem, and I know this, they are just a symptom.

Why I am running from them?

The short answer is fear, we all have feelings in our life that occasionally bring out parts of our character we would like to believe don’t exist. Once we encounter these feelings we come to question our own integrity, sadly looking at our feelings as they were to be perceived by others around us and then reacting in shame. This faulty logic leads us to ignore the emotional road signs our true self is trying to provide in hopes of helping us correct the root cause of the feeling. Thus we continuously neglect our emotional well being, slowly numbing it out through acts of sensory stimulation that provide a short term feel good in place of a long term remedy we need.

Through this process we slowly sever our ties with our eternal source of joy and peace, and gradually transform into the walking dead, nothing more than zombies stumbling through life attempting to find sustenance from hollow corpses of temporary stimulation. This negligence creates an unquenchable thirst within us one that can only be slaked with a drink from direct connection with self, but the bitter taste of emotion hides the sweet water of understanding.

I would like to believe this is something most people experience in life, although I do also acknowledge that not every does. If you are like me and happen to be reading this at one of those breathing moments in life please know you are not alone, this thing called life is a shared experience. For this fact I am grateful, because being alone with your problems is possibly the worst thing that could happen, it never fails that when I sit alone with my “problems” my brain is not nearly as interested in resolving the cause of my feelings as it is in creating nifty tricks on how to avoid that feeling altogether. I guess I am fortunate enough to have a strong body mind and soul connection that eventually what I try to avoid in my head will slowly manifest itself in my body and of course physical pain can be a strong motivator.

I’m not sure I have a happy ending for this post, to be honest some times you have to face the ugly truth and allow those unpleasant feelings to exist, yes it can be scary but once you have the courage to feel those emotions you’ll find that your heart is trying to tell you something it considers very important for your overall well being in life. One bit of advice is don’t face those feelings alone reach out to family, friends or appropriate support groups/professionals. Just because you want to face those feelings doesn’t mean you have to let them beat you down, the people in your life are there for reason, not because they think you are some amazing super hero but because they appreciate you for the human you are and love you all the same.

Remember you are not alone and of course your are worth More Than Gold.

Thank you and I Love You,

Sam

About sardeneaux

Raised as a preacher's kid for most of his adolescence, Sam is a young man who has come value LOVE and AUTHENTICITY more than anything else. Through the creation of MoreThanGold he hopes to provide a space for personal growth that will inspire others to remember their true worth.

Posted on November 19, 2015, in Reflections, Sam, Wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

